Co-Worker Still Working Toward His Resolution For Some Reason

Brian Higgins, a claims adjuster at a local insurance company, recently learned that one of his co-workers was still completing the daily tasks that he had assigned himself as part of his new year’s resolution in January.

“I was shocked, frankly.  I mean, it’s almost the middle of March now, who’s still working on that stuff?  My resolution was to eat better, and I’ve eaten three twixes this morning.  It’s barely ten.  I’ve had burgers for lunch and dinner six times in the last two weeks.  Who the hell does this guy think he is?  Does he think he’s better than the rest of us because he can keep doing something?  Granted, I don’t know exactly what his resolution is, he hasn’t been specific, only that it’s something health related.  Still.  He’s an asshole.”

Asked for comment, the co-worker, anonymously told us of his surprise at the animosity towards him for continuing with his resolution for so long.

“If I’m honest, I don’t really see my resolution as something for me, but more of a way to give back to the community, and society in general.  I understand that a lot of people fail in their resolutions, but I just keep in mind the reason I decided to do this, and focus on getting it done one day at a time.”

“Their anger towards me is quite surprising, particularly since I haven’t told anyone what it is exactly.  Is it just because I’m accomplishing something?  I don’t know.  Honestly, I would think they’d be happy that I started using deodorant and flossing my teeth.  That’s literally my resolution.  Floss and use deodorant.  The deodorant one they should be particularly happy about, I would think.”

“I guess he is less manky these days.” Brian told us.  “Why did you ask about that?”

Leave a Reply

