Fry Cook Looking Forward To New Job

A fry cook at a local deep frying restaurant has handed in his notice and is looking forward to his new job, which he starts on Monday.

“I am really looking forward to this.” Jason Toner told us. “I’ve worked at that place for the last ten years.  To be clear, I have no complaints about the job.  I was paid well, I got a share of the tips, the people were great and I didn’t have to deal with the customers.  I even got along great with the managers.  It’s just I haven’t not smelled like French fries for ten years less a week.  The smell just permeates you, by the time I’ve scrubbed and cleaned myself to the point of smelling normal, it’s time to go back to work again.  It’s a Sisyphean hell.”

“But no longer.  My new job is more customer service than I’ve done in the past.  It’s a cashier position at a convenience store chain.  But at last I won’t be around a deep fryer any more.  I can finally have a social life.  I can have a date where when I ask her if she’d like to go anywhere for dinner, she doesn’t comment on having a sudden craving for McDonalds.  Seriously, I was at the mall once, and a manager of a fry shop offered me a twenty bucks to walk around the mall around lunch and dinner time.  Apparently, whenever I visited the mall, his sales skyrocketed.  So I’ll be missing out on that, but it was all bonus anyway.  I didn’t rely on it.”

“I just feel relieved to be leaving.  It’s hard to put into words, but it’s like a weight has been lifted that I didn’t even know was there.”

John Taylor, his future boss is also looking forward to Jason starting.

“We’re all super excited to get another JT working there.  Me, Jason, Joana Temple, Joe Thompson, it’s a crazy time.  But I didn’t just hire him for his initials.  To be honest, we’re looking at expanding our food selection, and we’re in the process of getting a deep fryer.  Jason’s experience with one of those will be a huge benefit to the company.  We’ll be getting him started on that right away.”

Leave a Reply

