Astronomer On Pluto: What Have We Done!?

(Calgary, AB) –Hey everyone, if you’re like me, then you’re loving these photos from Pluto that NASA are releasing.  But there’s one man who isn’t having as great a time as we are.  Astronomer Jim Telescope, who says he always felt somehow pulled toward his family business of astronomy, was a key part of the decision to demote Pluto to ‘Dwarf Planet’ status, back in 2006.

“When I saw those photos for the first time, it was like that moment in Revenge of the Sith, after Anakin cuts of Mace Windu’s hands and Palpatine then kills Mace with Sith Lightning and flings him from the window.  My role being that of Anakin, of course.  When I saw that photo, I fell to my knees, looked to the heavens and cried out “What have we done?!  What arrogance has mankind wrought upon itself?”.  It was a pretty intense moment for me.  I’ve been reconsidering my position on Pluto’s status since, mulling over all the points in case we missed something.”

Jim’s wife, was less than supportive of his possible change of heart.

“We’ve been married for a few decades, and frankly, his whole deal of falling to his knees and crying that stuff out is getting a little old.  He said the exact same thing the first time I cooked a chicken breast stuffed with broccoli and cheese.  Literally.  “What arrogance has mankind wrought upon itself?”  Which was less than endearing after the cases of lawyering I’d won that day.  He also said it when our son brought home a clay ashtray he’d made in school.”

“Basically, I wouldn’t take it too seriously.  Chances are he’ll stick with his decision that Pluto isn’t a real planet.  He’s just a little excited about the new Star Wars films.”

 

Related Links

NASA’s New Horizons Probe Rewrites The Book On Pluto (CBC)

Pluto Photos Through The Ages (Global News)

Mysterious Plutonian Mountain Stumps Scientists (Huffington Post)

Leave a Reply

